God has gifted every Christian to be a person of influence

The past several weeks, I have been struck by the silence in my home. No, my home has not reached the “empty nest” stage (YET!) however, there are no longer infant cooing sounds, toddler tantrum and truck noises echoing through out. We are living in the reality of a significant change in our home/homeschool and it has been quite evident as our oldest, Amanda, is now an adult (18) and in her Senior year at home.

Amanda and I True Woman 08

Amanda and I

In between, ACT testing(s), transcripts and college applications, my heart has been reflecting on one main thought–the realization, that God has gifted my daughter to be a person of influence! For all of my Christian walk, I have believed that all Christians are given various gifts by God for His Glory and purpose, yet, often I have neglected to transfer that thinking toward my own children. If I truly believe that God has gifted every Christian to be a person of influence (which I do!)  and my dear sweet Amanda is a Christian, then logically, I can conclude that God has gifted her to be His person of influence…in the path He has called her to…in the college choice He places on her heart….

And this my dear sisters, is a difficult area for me to wrap my brain around! I am experiencing a huge faith walk right now, as we talk through and pray for her decisions.

Recently, God brought to mind a poem I read years ago in the Purpose Driven Life…it spoke volumes to me this week, and I thought I would share it with you…may you be mindful of its truths in the relationships you have with your own children.

Love Deanne

You are who you are for a reason.
Your’e part of an intricate plan.
Your’e a precious and perfect unique design,
Called God’s special woman or man.

You look like you look for a reason.
Our God made no mistake.
He knit you together within the womb,
You’re just what he wanted to make.

The parents you had were the ones he chose,
And no matter how you may feel,
They were custom-designed with God’s plan in mind,
And they bear the Master’s seal.

No, that trauma you faced was not easy.
And God wept that it hurt you so;
But it was allowed to shape your heart
So that into his likeness you’d grow.

You are who your are for a reason.
Youv’e been formed by the Master’s rod.
You are who you are, beloved,
Because there is a God!.

 

1 Response to “God has gifted every Christian to be a person of influence”


  1. 1 Amy November 13, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    This IS a hard phase! My oldest, 17 y.o. dd, will be going away to college next year too. The whirlwind of activity (we are on a college visit as I write) swirls about us. I am learning a LOT about trust. Trust in Him as His plan unfolds for my daughter.

    The college of her dreams in in SW Florida where she has been accepted but has made no final decision. I keep saying to myself I can do this…and lean on Him. She will not know (I hope) just how hard this is.


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers